TOPIC 1: Reflection on Digital “Visitors” and “Residents”

After researching about the topic and reading my classmates’ thoughts on the issue, I went from a 0 to 7(?) and gained knowledge on the topic. Everyone had different opinions and perspective on the topic. Personally, I explained about the definitions of a Visitor or Resident and gave my personal touch on the topic. Before this topic, it never crossed my mind to categorize individuals into Digital “Residents” or “Visitors” as so many people of my age around me are usually Residents.

On a side note, I really like how some of my classmates relate themselves to either a Visitor or Resident. Interestingly, Wong Hui Juan relates herself as in-between the Visitor-Resident continuum because she enjoys using social media sites but is conserved about showing her ideas online! I agree with Walden Lee on the Residents being mostly from the young people in Generation Y as they were born in the age where technology has been developed, with the Visitors mainly the older generation who are not good with technology. He related himself to being a Resident because he could not resist the temptation of social media!

To summarize, this topic was really interesting and thought provoking. I can’t wait for the next topic already, so excited!

P.S. Haven’t blogged in years!!! But it feels great to be back, typing down my thoughts and reading others’ 🙂  

Leave a Reply

